lan: en
mode: project
page: jho707_mrz883_uov568
sub: og-page_tit: Elfenau Landscape Park og-page_des: The valuable “Elfenau” garden monument has been upgraded by means of careful renovation and modified maintenance. By opening up overgrown visual connections, planting the meadows in a theatrical manner, and renovating the fountain, we have made it possible to experience the ideas behind the landscape garden once again. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/en/project/jho707_mrz883_uov568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/jho707_mrz883_uov568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Elfenau Landscape Park, Bern

“Elfenau” is located on the southern edge of the city of Bern, in a slightly elevated position on the right bank of the River Aare. The planning of the landscape garden that still exists today goes back to the Russian Grand Duchess Anna Feodorovna. She acquired the country estate in 1814, gave her property the poetic name “Elfenau,” and commissioned the garden architect Joseph Bernhard Baumann to transform the site into a landscape garden. A network of paths with pavilions, areas for sitting, and outlook points, which becomes more concentrated toward the stately manor, was laid out on the meadows, which were used for agriculture.

In historical pictures, it becomes clear that the special qualities of the site—views of the broad course of the River Aare, the nearby Gurten, Bern’s local mountain, and the magnificent mountain panorama of the Bernese High Alps—were masterfully integrated into the conception of the landscape park. The current “Elfenau” park can, however, only be experienced as a park from the edge of the site down to the River Aare. The rearward area of the park has been partially built over and is mainly perceived as an operational area and field used for agriculture.

The park maintenance plan of 2009 provides the basis for preserving this unique scenic, ecological, cultural-historical, and garden monument jewel for the future and for developing it further in a suitable way. An exact reconstruction of the historical site is neither desired nor possible from the perspective of garden monument preservation as well as to its extensive use by the population. In the future, the intentions of the Grand Duchess Anna Feodorovna and her garden designer are, however, supposed to be emphasized more intensively and, where necessary, restaged. We are thus making it possible to experience the original radiance of the park anew with various measures.

Paths have once again been laid out in an enthralling way on the land used for agriculture. The pavilions, benches, and islands of flowers have not been reconstructed due to a lack of sources, but instead take up Feodorovna’s ideas in a contemporary language. The extensive rich meadows are being cultivated to a greater extent so as to visualize their flower-filled appeal. Groups of trees, solitaires, and shrubs give rhythm to the landscape space and once again provide structure for the cleared meadows and fields. The “Elfenauhölzli” is maintained as a multilayered selection forest, which thus makes it seem more mysterious.

Excavations by garden archeologists have been unable to document any traces of the waterfall envisioned in Baumann’s plan. Such a waterfall has nonetheless been created as a new element of the garden monument and a tribute to Anna Feodorovna. Thanks to these adaptations, the intellectual world of the Grand Duchess becomes comprehensible once again both spatially and ideationally. “Elfenau” remains a favorite park of the residents of Bern!

Client
Immobilien Stadt Bern
Stadtgrün Bern
Project Data
Park maintenance plan 2008-2009
Particular Project since 2009 in stages
Area 40 ha

Other Projects

lan: de
mode: project
page: jho707_mrz883_uov568
sub: og-page_tit: Landschaftspark Elfenau og-page_des: Das wertvolle Gartendenkmal «Elfenau» wird über eine behutsame Sanierung und veränderte Pflege aufgewertet. Durch das Öffnen zugewachsener Sichtbezüge, die kulissenartige Bestockung der Wiesen und die Sanierung der Brunnen machen wir die Ideen des Landschaftsgartens wieder erlebbar. og-page_kwd: Landschaftsarchitektur, Themen, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/de/project/jho707_mrz883_uov568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/jho707_mrz883_uov568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Landschaftspark Elfenau, Bern

Die «Elfenau» liegt am südlichen Stadtrand von Bern leicht erhöht am rechten Ufer der Aare. Die Planung des heute noch bestehenden Landschaftsgartens geht auf die russische Grossfürstin Anna Feodorowna zurück. Sie erwirbt das Landgut 1814, gibt ihrem Besitz den poetischen Namen «Elfenau» und beauftragt den Gartenarchitekten Joseph Bernhard Baumann, das Anwesen in einen Landschaftsgarten zu verwandeln. Auf den landwirtschaftlich genutzten Wiesen wird ein sich zum Herrschaftshaus hin verdichtendes Wegenetz mit Pavillons, Sitz- und Aussichtsplätzen angelegt.

Auf den historischen Abbildungen wird deutlich, dass die besondere Qualität des Parks, Aussichten auf den breiten Lauf der Aare, den nahegelegenen Hausberg Berns, den Gurten, und das herrliche Bergpanorama der Berner Hochalpen zu bieten, virtuos in die Konzeption der landschaftlichen Anlage einbezogen wurde. Die heutige Parkanlage «Elfenau» kann jedoch nur von der Geländekante bis hinunter zur Aare als Park erlebt werden. Der rückwärtige Parkbereich wurde teilweise überbaut und wird hauptsächlich als Betriebsfläche und landwirtschaftlich genutzte Wiese wahrgenommen.

Das Parkpflegewerk von 2009 dient als Grundlage, das landschaftlich, ökologisch, kulturhistorisch und gartendenkmalpflegerisch einzigartige Juwel für die Zukunft zu erhalten und angemessen weiter zu entwickeln. Eine exakte Wiederherstellung der historischen Anlage ist aus gartendenkmalpflegerischer Sicht und wegen der breiten Nutzung durch die Bevölkerung weder erwünscht noch möglich. In Zukunft sollen jedoch die Intentionen der Grossfürstin Anna Feodorowna und ihres Gartengestalters wieder stärker hervorgehoben und, wo nötig, neu inszeniert werden. Mit verschiedenen Massnahmen machen wir die ursprüngliche Ausstrahlung des Parks wieder erlebbar.

Die Wege werden erneut spannungsreich in das Landwirtschaftsland gelegt. Pavillons, Sitzbänke und Blumeninseln werden aufgrund fehlender Quellen nicht rekonstruiert, sondern führen Feodorownas Ideen in zeitgemässer Sprache fort. Die weitläufigen Fettwiesen werden extensiver bewirtschaftet, um den Reiz blumenreicher Wiesen zu vergegenwärtigen. Baumgruppen, Solitäre und Buschwerk rhythmisieren den Landschaftsraum und geben den ausgeräumten Wiesen und Feldern wieder Struktur. Das «Elfenauhölzli» wird als mehrschichtiger Plenterwald gepflegt, was ihn geheimnisvoller erscheinen lässt.

Die gartenarchäologischen Grabungen konnten keine Spuren des im Baumann-Plan vorgesehenen Wasserfalls belegen. Dennoch wurde ein solcher als gartendenkmalpflegerische Neuschöpfung und Reverenz an Anna Feodorowna erstellt. Dank dieser Anpassungen wird die Geisteswelt der Grossfürstin wieder räumlich und ideell nachvollziehbar. Die «Elfenau» bleibt ein Lieblingspark der Bernerinnen und Berner!

Bauherr
Immobilien Stadt Bern
Stadtgrün Bern
Projektdaten
Parkpflegewerk 2008-2009
Teilprojekte seit 2009 in Etappen
Etappe 1 Herrenhaus 2010-2011
Etappe 2 Wege/Wasserfall 2012-2014
Etappe 3 Elfenauhölzli ab 2020
Fläche 40 ha

Weitere Projekte