lan: en
mode: topics
page: denkmaeler
sub: og-page_tit: Monuments og-page_des: A new understanding of a location can develop based on knowledge of its history. Looking back at the past forms the basis for the future design of an open space. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, Monuments og-page_url: https://www.hager-ag.ch/en/topics/denkmaeler/ [open] og-page_img: https://www.hager-ag.ch/db_data/top/denkmaeler/image_web.jpg [open]

Monuments

The key to designing sustainable and identity-forming open spaces is dealing respectfully with history and the traces of it that have been preserved. The elements that have been handed down are intentionally supplemented with a new layer.
Examining the history of a location makes us as landscape architects people “who understand time” and holds diverse potentials for the present and future. Besides a scholarly reappraisal of the history of a location’s evolution, taking stock of and analyzing what already exists involves in particular assessing it from the perspective of historic garden restoration. With our designs, we do not want to merely preserve or reconstruct the existing inventory, but also to develop something new from the old that corresponds to people’s current requirements. Transforming the historical dimension of a location creates sustainable open spaces with an identity-forming effect.
The abundant potentials of the Botanical Garden are being tapped to a greater extent. A new visitor center, the redesigned Italian Garden, an overhauled systems of paths, and new gardens with useful and ornamental plants now make the Botanical Garden that much more attractive.
With the summer flower and perennial garden, we have developed a special garden in Treptower Park further based on the existing park maintenance plan in a contemporary way—with special consideration given to a sustainable choice of plants and the renovation of the original structural elements based on guidelines for historical monument protection.
The valuable “Elfenau” garden monument has been upgraded by means of careful renovation and modified maintenance. By opening up overgrown visual connections, planting the meadows in a theatrical manner, and renovating the fountain, we have made it possible to experience the ideas behind the landscape garden once again.
Our design restores the garden monument, which had already been redesigned several times, to its original proportions. While the old trees have been retained, the beds of alternating flowers have been interpreted anew. In place of the orangery, an arbor of yew trees separates the parterre from the “Graben-Gärten.”
The flower garden has been used for summertime gastronomy since the 1960s. It was restored to its original purpose in connection with the EXPO 2000. Our design respects the original structuring into three areas and interprets it in a novel way.
The garden, from 1760, at the Palais Rechberg is considered to be one of the most magnificent Baroque gardens in Zurich. Important elements have been preserved in the original and renovated. Individual contemporary flowerbeds show that our garden culture continues to be vibrant.

Other Projects

lan: de
mode: topics
page: denkmaeler
sub: og-page_tit: Denkmäler og-page_des: Aus dem Wissen über die Geschichte kann ein neues Verständnis für einen Ort erwachsen. Der Blick in die Vergangenheit bildet die Grundlage für die zukünftige Gestaltung eines Freiraums. og-page_kwd: Landschaftsarchitektur, Themen, Denkmäler og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/de/topics/denkmaeler/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/top/denkmaeler/image_web.jpg [open]

Denkmäler

Im respektvollen Umgang mit der Geschichte und den erhaltenen Spuren liegt der Schlüssel für eine nachhaltige und identitätsstiftende Gestaltung von Freiräumen. Den tradierten Elementen wird bewusst eine neue Schicht hinzugefügt.
Die Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte eines Ortes macht uns Landschaftsarchitekten zu »Zeitverstehern« und birgt vielfältige Potenziale für Gegenwart und Zukunft. Neben der wissenschaftlichen Aufarbeitung der Entstehungsgeschichte, der Aufnahme und Analyse des Bestands geht es vor allem um eine gartendenkmalpflegerische Würdigung. Mit unseren Entwürfen wollen wir nicht nur vorhandenes konservieren oder rekonstruieren, sondern aus dem Alten etwas Neues entwickeln, das den heutigen Ansprüchen der Menschen entspricht. Durch die Transformation der historischen Dimension eines Ortes werden nachhaltige Freiräume mit identitätsstiftender Wirkung erschaffen.
Die reichhaltigen Potenziale des Botanischen Gartens werden weiter ausgeschöpft. Ein neues Besucherzentrum, der überarbeitete Italienische Garten, sanierte Wegesysteme sowie neue Nutzpflanzen- und Schmuckgärten machen die Gartenanlagen wesentlich attraktiver.
Mit dem Sommerblumen- und Staudengarten haben wir einen Sondergarten des Treptower Parks anhand des vorliegenden Parkpflegewerkes zeitgemäß weiterentwickelt – unter besonderer Beachtung einer nachhaltigen Pflanzenauswahl und einer denkmalgerechten Sanierung der originalen Bauelemente.
Das wertvolle Gartendenkmal «Elfenau» wird über eine behutsame Sanierung und veränderte Pflege aufgewertet. Durch das Öffnen zugewachsener Sichtbezüge, die kulissenartige Bestockung der Wiesen und die Sanierung der Brunnen machen wir die Ideen des Landschaftsgartens wieder erlebbar.
Unser Entwurf gibt dem mehrmals umgestalteten Gartendenkmal seine ursprünglichen Proportionen zurück. Unter Erhalt der alten Bäume wurden die Wechselflor-Beete neu interpretiert. Anstelle der Orangerie trennt eine Eibenlaube das Parterre von den «Graben-Gärten».
Seit den 1960er Jahren wurde der Blumengarten für die Sommergastronomie genutzt. Anlässlich der EXPO 2000 wurde er seiner ursprünglichen Bestimmung zurückgegeben. Unser Entwurf respektiert die originale Gliederung in drei Bereiche und interpretiert sie in neuartiger Weise.
Der Garten von 1760 am Palais Rechberg gilt als einer der prächtigsten Barockgärten von Zürich. Wesentliche Elemente sind im Original erhalten geblieben und wurden saniert. Einzelne zeitgenössische Blumenbeete zeigen, dass unsere Gartenkultur nach wie vor lebendig ist.

Weitere Projekte