lan: en
mode: project
page: jho707_mrz883_uov568
sub: og-page_tit: Elfenau Landscape Park og-page_des: The valuable “Elfenau” garden monument has been upgraded by means of careful renovation and modified maintenance. By opening up overgrown visual connections, planting the meadows in a theatrical manner, and renovating the fountain, we have made it possible to experience the ideas behind the landscape garden once again. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/en/project/jho707_mrz883_uov568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/jho707_mrz883_uov568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Elfenau Landscape Park, Bern

“Elfenau” is located on the southern edge of the city of Bern, in a slightly elevated position on the right bank of the River Aare. The planning of the landscape garden that still exists today goes back to the Russian Grand Duchess Anna Feodorovna. She acquired the country estate in 1814, gave her property the poetic name “Elfenau,” and commissioned the garden architect Joseph Bernhard Baumann to transform the site into a landscape garden. A network of paths with pavilions, areas for sitting, and outlook points, which becomes more concentrated toward the stately manor, was laid out on the meadows, which were used for agriculture.

In historical pictures, it becomes clear that the special qualities of the site—views of the broad course of the River Aare, the nearby Gurten, Bern’s local mountain, and the magnificent mountain panorama of the Bernese High Alps—were masterfully integrated into the conception of the landscape park. The current “Elfenau” park can, however, only be experienced as a park from the edge of the site down to the River Aare. The rearward area of the park has been partially built over and is mainly perceived as an operational area and field used for agriculture.

The park maintenance plan of 2009 provides the basis for preserving this unique scenic, ecological, cultural-historical, and garden monument jewel for the future and for developing it further in a suitable way. An exact reconstruction of the historical site is neither desired nor possible from the perspective of garden monument preservation as well as to its extensive use by the population. In the future, the intentions of the Grand Duchess Anna Feodorovna and her garden designer are, however, supposed to be emphasized more intensively and, where necessary, restaged. We are thus making it possible to experience the original radiance of the park anew with various measures.

Paths have once again been laid out in an enthralling way on the land used for agriculture. The pavilions, benches, and islands of flowers have not been reconstructed due to a lack of sources, but instead take up Feodorovna’s ideas in a contemporary language. The extensive rich meadows are being cultivated to a greater extent so as to visualize their flower-filled appeal. Groups of trees, solitaires, and shrubs give rhythm to the landscape space and once again provide structure for the cleared meadows and fields. The “Elfenauhölzli” is maintained as a multilayered selection forest, which thus makes it seem more mysterious.

Excavations by garden archeologists have been unable to document any traces of the waterfall envisioned in Baumann’s plan. Such a waterfall has nonetheless been created as a new element of the garden monument and a tribute to Anna Feodorovna. Thanks to these adaptations, the intellectual world of the Grand Duchess becomes comprehensible once again both spatially and ideationally. “Elfenau” remains a favorite park of the residents of Bern!

Client
Immobilien Stadt Bern
Stadtgrün Bern
Project Data
Park maintenance plan 2008-2009
Particular Project since 2009 in stages
Area 40 ha

Other Projects

lan: fr
mode: project
page: jho707_mrz883_uov568
sub: og-page_tit: Jardin paysager de l´Elfenau og-page_des: L’élégant jardin historique de l’Elfenau est mis en valeur par une restauration soigneuse et un entretien plus adapté. Le jardin paysager reprend vie par le dégagement des perspectives obstruées par la végétation, la plantation de prairies dans tout le parc et la rénovation des fontaines. og-page_kwd: Architecture du paysage, Thèmes, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/fr/project/jho707_mrz883_uov568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/jho707_mrz883_uov568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Jardin paysager de l´Elfenau, Bern

L’Elfenau se trouve à la périphérie sud de Berne, légèrement en surplomb sur la rive droite de l’Aar. L’aménagement du jardin paysager, aujourd’hui encore existant, date de l’époque de la Grande Duchesse Anna Feodorowna. Elle acquit la propriété en 1814, lui donne le nom poétique d’Elfenau (Pré des Elfes) et confie au paysagiste Joseph Bernhard Baumann la transformation de la propriété en un jardin paysager. Sur les prairies utilisées à des fins agricoles, il aménage tout autour du manoir un réseau de cheminements ponctué de pavillons, de zones de détente et d’espaces d'observation.

Les illustrations historiques montrent clairement que les qualités particulières du lieu, qui offre des vues sur le large cours de l'Aar, sur la montagne locale de Berne, le Gurten, et sur le magnifique panorama montagneux des Hautes-Alpes bernoises, ont été intégrés avec virtuosité dans la conception paysagère du parc. Cependant, le parc « Elfenau » d'aujourd'hui ne se comprend comme un parc seulement depuis la limite du terrain jusqu'à l'Aare. La zone arrière du parc a été partiellement construite et est principalement perçue comme une exploitation et une prairie utilisée à des fins agricoles.

Le plan de gestion de 2009 sert de base pour le maintien des qualités pittoresques de ce joyau paysager ainsi que de son patrimoine culturel et historique. Une reconstruction exacte du jardin historique n'est ni souhaitable ni possible du point de vue du patrimoine paysager et en raison du caractère public de cet espace. À l’avenir, cependant, les intentions de la Grande Duchesse Anna Feodorowna et du paysagiste Joseph Bernhard Baumann doivent être mises en valeur et, là où nécessaire, être remises en scène. À l’aide de différentes mesures, la splendeur originelle du parc sera à nouveau visible.

Les chemins seront réaménagés dans le paysage agricole pour créer des promenades intéressantes. Les pavillons, bancs et îlots fleuris ne seront pas reconstruits, par manque de références, mais traduits dans un langage contemporain qui respectera l’œuvre et l’héritage de la Grande duchesse Feodorowna. Les vastes prairies seront gérées de manière plus extensive afin de valoriser le charme des fleurs sauvages. Les bosquets, les arbres solitaires et les buissons rythment le paysage et redonnent une structure aux prairies et aux champs. L’« Elfenauhölzli » est entretenu comme une futaie jardinée, ce qui lui la rend encore plus mystérieuse.

Les fouilles archéologiques réalisées dans le parc n'ont pas permis de retrouver de traces de la cascade envisagée dans le plan Baumann. Néanmoins, une nouvelle cascade a été créée comme réinterprétation patrimoniale et comme hommage à Anna Feodorowna. L’esprit et la vision de la Grande Duchesse sont rendus de nouveau perceptibles sur le site grâce au réaménagements entrepris. L’« Elfenau » reste l’un des parcs préférés des Bernois !

Maître d'ouvrage
Immobilien Stadt Bern
Stadtgrün Bern
Données du projet
Plan de gestion 2008-2009
Plan idéal 2009
Réalisation depuis 2009 en étape
Superficie 40 ha

Projets supplémentaires