lan: en
mode: project
page: grz707_mti883_etx568
sub: og-page_tit: Cantonal Hospital og-page_des: A circumferential green space integrates the new cantonal hospital of Baden in the existing landscape structures. A new hospital garden is being created in the west to supplement the existing Südpark. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/en/project/grz707_mti883_etx568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/grz707_mti883_etx568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3

Cantonal Hospital, Baden

The new cantonal hospital is being created in Baden directly next to the existing hospital. With the hospital garden, we integrate the new building into the landscape and supplement the existing Südpark (south park).

Striking sculptural oak trees accompany the road leading to the hospital and guide visitors from the bus stop to the entrance area of the hospital, which is characterized by blooming perennials and trees. An additional footpath between the areas with perennials and cut flowers links the parking garage with the main entrance. The sumptuous beds of perennials and interspersed low woody plants are both a sight for sore eyes and a privacy shield.

The nearby forest can be experienced in the new hospital garden on the rear side of the building. The tranquil, nearly private-seeming, park-like garden forms an impressive contrast to the lively entrance area. Directly next to the building, we positioned a preliminary zone framed by blooming perennials, in which benches with a view of the forest and the outdoor area of the restaurant for employees, who can relax here under sun umbrellas, are embedded. Along the circular path leading through wildflower meadows, individual solitary trees provide shaded resting places. A central square with a pergola and raised beds becomes an attractive meeting place.

After the of the existing hospital has been removed, an extensive field park with perennial areas, fields of cut flowers, and flowering lawn areas will be created. With these vegetation structures, we create an identity-forming basic structure that can be adapted in a flexible way without losing its character if the hospital building is expanded. The existing Südgarten (south garden) will be integrated into the structure as a whole and mediate between the field park and hospital garden as an autonomous open space.

Client
Kantonsspital Baden
Project Data
Competition 2015, 1st prize
Planning 2016-2020
Realisation since 2019
Area 38`000 m²
Project Team
Nickl & Partner Architekten, Zürich
Amstein + Walthert AG, Zürich
Leonhardt, Andrä und Partner AG, Stuttgart
bleschess ag, Luzern

Other Projects

lan: de
mode: project
page: grz707_mti883_etx568
sub: og-page_tit: Kantonsspital og-page_des: Ein umlaufender Grünraum bindet das neue Kantonsspital von Baden in die vorhandenen landschaftlichen Strukturen ein. Im Westen entsteht in Ergänzung zum bestehenden Südpark ein neuer Spitalgarten. og-page_kwd: Landschaftsarchitektur, Themen, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/de/project/grz707_mti883_etx568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/grz707_mti883_etx568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3

Kantonsspital, Baden

In Baden entsteht direkt neben dem vorhandenen Spital das neue Kantonsspital. Mit dem Spitalgarten binden wir das neue Gebäude in die Landschaft ein und ergänzen den vorhandenen Südpark.

Markante Säuleneichen begleiten die Zufahrt und führen die Besucherinnen und Besucher von der Bushaltestelle zum Eingangsbereich des Spitals, der von blühenden Stauden und Bäumen geprägt wird. Ein weiterer Fussweg zwischen Stauden- und Schnittblumenflächen verbindet das Parkhaus mit dem Haupteingang. Die üppigen Staudenbeete und die eingestreuten niedrigen Gehölze sind sowohl Augenweide als auch Sichtschutz.

Im neuen Spitalgarten auf der Gebäuderückseite wird der nahe Wald erlebbar. Der ruhige, beinahe privat wirkende parkartige Garten bildet einen eindrucksvollen Kontrast zum belebten Zugangsbereich. Direkt am Gebäude haben wir eine von blühenden Stauden gesäumte Vorzone angeordnet, in die Sitzbänke mit Blick auf den Wald sowie der Aussenbereich des Mitarbeiterrestaurants eingebettet sind, die sich hier unter Sonnenschirmen erholen können. Entlang eines durch Wildblumenwiesen führenden Rundwegs sorgen einzelne Solitärbäume für schattige Ruheorte. Ein zentraler Platz mit Pergola und Hochbeeten wird zum attraktiven Treffpunkt.

Nach Rückbau des bestehenden Spitals wird ein weitläufig angelegter Feldpark mit Staudenflächen, Schnittblumenfeldern und Blumenrasenflächen entstehen. Mit diesen Vegetationsstrukturen schaffen wir ein identitätsstiftendes Grundgerüst, das bei einer Erweiterung des Spitalbaues flexibel angepasst werden kann, ohne an Charakter einzubüssen. Der bestehende Südgarten wird in die Gesamtstruktur eingebunden und vermittelt als eigenständiger Freiraum zwischen Feldpark und Spitalgarten.

Bauherr
Kantonsspital Baden
Projektdaten
Wettbewerb 2015, 1.Preis
Projektierung 2016-2020
Realisierung seit 2019
Fläche 38`000 m²
Projektteam
Nickl & Partner Architekten, Zürich
Amstein + Walthert AG, Zürich
Leonhardt, Andrä und Partner AG, Stuttgart
bleschess ag, Luzern

Weitere Projekte