lan: en
mode: project
page: gkb707_kse883_ype568
sub: og-page_tit: Botanical Garden Berlin-Dahlem og-page_des: The abundant potentials of the Botanical Garden are being tapped to a greater extent. A new visitor center, the redesigned Italian Garden, an overhauled systems of paths, and new gardens with useful and ornamental plants now make the Botanical Garden that much more attractive. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/en/project/gkb707_kse883_ype568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/gkb707_kse883_ype568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Botanical Garden Berlin-Dahlem , Berlin

An area of over 43 hectares and roughly 22,000 different varieties of plants make the Botanical Garden in Berlin the second largest botanical gardens in Germany and the fourth largest in the world. The site is cared for by the Free University in Berlin and has the status of a central facility that is independent of any specific faculty. Ten sub-projects consisting of new planning, further developments, and renovations situated between public use, teaching, and monument protection are being discussed and realized within the framework of a funding initiative.

The Botanical Garden opened at its new site in Berlin-Dahlem in 1904 based on the motto “The world in one garden.” More than a century later, it still holds a leading position among comparable gardens in the world. With roughly 300,000 visitors per year, the potential of the site has nonetheless still not been tapped to its full extent. Following the renovation of the large greenhouses from 2006 to 2015 and the reorganization of the area of marketing and public relations work, the focus now is on realizing extensive measures to improve the tourist infrastructure.

In cooperation with a team of specialist planners, we are designing and coordinating the most extensive aspect of the development measures: the open-air facilities. While taking monument protection into particular consideration, the primary aim is to emphasize the unique selling points of the garden in the long term and to considerably increase its attractiveness for visitors—among other things, by means of a new visitor center, a fundamental overhauling of the paths, a modern signage and information system, and a new design of various ornamental garden areas, including the magnificent Italian Garden.

Client
Freie Universität Berlin ZE
Botanischer Garten Berlin
Botanisches Museum Berlin
Project Data
Competition 2016
Planning 2016-2021
Realisation 2018-2023
Area ca. 43 ha (430`000 m²)
Project Team
heneghan peng architects
irriprojekts
Tim Meier

Other Projects

lan: fr
mode: project
page: gkb707_kse883_ype568
sub: og-page_tit: Jardin et musée botanique Dahlem og-page_des: Nous tirons parti des potentiels innombrables du jardin botanique. Le parc est rendu plus attrayant grâce à un nouveau centre d'accueil des visiteurs, au jardin italien réaménagé, aux cheminements remis à neuf et aux nouveaux potager et jardin d’agrément. og-page_kwd: Architecture du paysage, Thèmes, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/fr/project/gkb707_kse883_ype568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/gkb707_kse883_ype568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Jardin et musée botanique Dahlem, Berlin

Avec une superficie de plus de 43 hectares et environ 22 000 espèces végétales différentes, le jardin botanique de Berlin est le deuxième plus grand jardin botanique d'Allemagne et le quatrième plus grand au monde. Il est sous la responsabilité de l’Université libre de Berlin et a le statut d'une institution centrale indépendante de la faculté. Dans le cadre d'une aide au développement, dix projets de planification, développement et rénovation sont discutés et réalisés. Ces projets ont une vocation à la fois publique, éducative et patrimoniale.

Le jardin botanique, sous la devise « Le monde dans un jardin », a été inauguré en 1904, à son nouvel emplacement à Berlin-Dahlem. Plus d'un siècle plus tard, il occupe toujours une place de choix parmi les différents jardins botaniques à travers le monde. Avec environ 300 000 visiteurs par an, son potentiel est loin d'être épuisé. Après la rénovation des grandes serres de 2006 à 2015 et l'extension du département « Marketing et relations publiques », l'accent est désormais porté sur la mise en œuvre de vastes mesures visant à améliorer le développement touristique et l'infrastructure du jardin botanique.

En collaboration avec une équipe de planificateurs spécialisés, nous concevons et coordonnons l'aspect le plus important du projet de développement : l’aménagement des espaces extérieurs. Tout en accordant une attention particulière à la préservation du patrimoine existant, l'objectif premier est de mettre en valeur durablement les caractéristiques uniques du jardin et d'accroître son attrait pour les visiteurs, notamment grâce à un nouveau centre d'accueil, à la rénovation des cheminements, à un système moderne d'information et au réaménagement de divers espaces d’agrément du jardin, dont le magnifique jardin italien.

Maître d'ouvrage
Freie Universität Berlin ZE
Botanischer Garten Berlin
Botanisches Museum Berlin
Données du projet
Concours 2016
Conception 2016-2021
Réalisation 2018-2023
Superficie ca. 43 ha (430`000 m²)
Équipe du projet
heneghan peng architects
irriprojekts
Tim Meier

Projets supplémentaires