lan: en
mode: topics
page: denkmaeler
sub: og-page_tit: Monuments og-page_des: A new understanding of a location can develop based on knowledge of its history. Looking back at the past forms the basis for the future design of an open space. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, Monuments og-page_url: https://www.hager-ag.ch/en/topics/denkmaeler/ [open] og-page_img: https://www.hager-ag.ch/db_data/top/denkmaeler/image_web.jpg [open]

Monuments

The key to designing sustainable and identity-forming open spaces is dealing respectfully with history and the traces of it that have been preserved. The elements that have been handed down are intentionally supplemented with a new layer.
Examining the history of a location makes us as landscape architects people “who understand time” and holds diverse potentials for the present and future. Besides a scholarly reappraisal of the history of a location’s evolution, taking stock of and analyzing what already exists involves in particular assessing it from the perspective of historic garden restoration. With our designs, we do not want to merely preserve or reconstruct the existing inventory, but also to develop something new from the old that corresponds to people’s current requirements. Transforming the historical dimension of a location creates sustainable open spaces with an identity-forming effect.
The abundant potentials of the Botanical Garden are being tapped to a greater extent. A new visitor center, the redesigned Italian Garden, an overhauled systems of paths, and new gardens with useful and ornamental plants now make the Botanical Garden that much more attractive.
With the summer flower and perennial garden, we have developed a special garden in Treptower Park further based on the existing park maintenance plan in a contemporary way—with special consideration given to a sustainable choice of plants and the renovation of the original structural elements based on guidelines for historical monument protection.
The valuable “Elfenau” garden monument has been upgraded by means of careful renovation and modified maintenance. By opening up overgrown visual connections, planting the meadows in a theatrical manner, and renovating the fountain, we have made it possible to experience the ideas behind the landscape garden once again.
Our design restores the garden monument, which had already been redesigned several times, to its original proportions. While the old trees have been retained, the beds of alternating flowers have been interpreted anew. In place of the orangery, an arbor of yew trees separates the parterre from the “Graben-Gärten.”
The flower garden has been used for summertime gastronomy since the 1960s. It was restored to its original purpose in connection with the EXPO 2000. Our design respects the original structuring into three areas and interprets it in a novel way.
The garden, from 1760, at the Palais Rechberg is considered to be one of the most magnificent Baroque gardens in Zurich. Important elements have been preserved in the original and renovated. Individual contemporary flowerbeds show that our garden culture continues to be vibrant.

Other Projects

lan: fr
mode: topics
page: denkmaeler
sub: og-page_tit: Jardins historiques og-page_des: La connaissance de l'histoire d’un site contribue à sa nouvelle compréhension. Le regard sur l’héritage historique constitue la base pour une conception future d'un espace libre. og-page_kwd: Architecture du paysage, Thèmes, Jardins historiques og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/fr/topics/denkmaeler/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/top/denkmaeler/image_web.jpg [open]

Jardins historiques

La clé d'une conception durable et créatrice d'identité pour des espaces verts, réside dans l’observation respectueuse de l'histoire du lieu et la préservation des traces du passé. Une nouvelle couche est délibérément ajoutée à l’héritage historique.
La confrontation avec l'histoire d'un lieu fait de nous, architectes paysagistes, des "architectes du temps" et offre des opportunités multiples pour le présent et l’avenir. Outre le travail scientifique de mémoire et de documentation, le relevé et l’analyse de la substance existante, il s’agit essentiellement de rendre un hommage au jardin historique. A travers nos esquisses, nous souhaitons non seulement conserver ou reconstruire certains éléments existants, mais aussi créer quelque chose de "nouveau" à partir de "l'ancien", afin de répondre aux attentes actuelles de nos contemporains. La transformation de la dimension historique d’un lieu fait naître des jardins patrimoniaux durables et empreints d’identité.
Nous tirons parti des potentiels innombrables du jardin botanique. Le parc est rendu plus attrayant grâce à un nouveau centre d'accueil des visiteurs, au jardin italien réaménagé, aux cheminements remis à neuf et aux nouveaux potager et jardin d’agrément.
L'objectif principal était de préserver le langage formel existant tout en renforçant le caractère paysager du parc et en restaurant les axes visuels vers la Spree. De plus, les sentiers surdimensionnés ont été redessinés. La structure existante des massifs a été conservée. La composition des plantations a été interprétée de façon contemporaine, les thèmes de couleurs ont été conservés et affinés.
L’élégant jardin historique de l’Elfenau est mis en valeur par une restauration soigneuse et un entretien plus adapté. Le jardin paysager reprend vie par le dégagement des perspectives obstruées par la végétation, la plantation de prairies dans tout le parc et la rénovation des fontaines.
Réaménagé plusieurs fois, le jardin historique a retrouvé ses proportions d’origine. Les anciens arbres remarquables ont été conservés, les massifs fleuris réinterprétés. En remplacement de l’orangerie, une tonnelle d’if sépare les parterres fleuris des massifs de vivaces.
Depuis les années 1960, le jardin d’agrément est utilisé pour la gastronomie d'été. L’EXPO 2000 a été l'occasion de lui rendre sa vocation première. Notre concept respecte le plan d’origine en trois zones et les interprète d'une manière nouvelle.
Ce jardin de 1760 compte comme l’un des plus imposants jardins baroques de Zurich. Les éléments majeurs proviennent du jardin originel. Parmi les éléments existants de valeur, de nouveaux massifs d’annuelles apportent une culture de jardin vivante.

Projets supplémentaires