lan: en
mode: publication
page: vso994_nmu363_llg589
sub: og-page_tit: FLUX - Golden Traffic Hub, Swiss Mobility Award og-page_des: The redesigned train station & station square in St.Gallen was awarded the Swiss Mobility Prize FLUX Golden Transport Hub 2019. The jury praised, among other things, the general layout, the careful furnishing and the ``masterful quality``. og-page_kwd: Firm, Publications, FLUX - Golden Traffic Hub, Swiss Mobility Award og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/en/publication/vso994_nmu363_llg589/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pub/vso994_nmu363_llg589/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3

FLUX - Golden Traffic Hub, Swiss Mobility Award

Award (2019)

In 2019, the FLUX Prize will be awarded to Stadt St.Gallen, which won over the jury with the general layout of the station area and the extremely careful design, which convinces with high legibility and functionality. The jury attested the project masterly qualities as well as a great performance in the coordination of the involved actors. In the surroundings and in the station itself, the spaces were carefully redesigned, regardless of the large number of stakeholders (six transport companies, SBB Immobilien, SBB Infrastruktur, the city, the canton, the federal government, organizations for the disabled, cab companies, bicycle associations and the stores involved). This resulted in an overall solution that creates a perfect connection between transport, public space and urban development on a large scale. Today, the boundaries between the SBB site and the city's public land are no longer recognizable. The railroad station has been perfectly integrated into the city center of St.Gallen and vice versa.

In the past, the station forecourt was the scene of conflicts and chaotic traffic conditions. The most important decision was to banish car traffic from the square in order to achieve the necessary calm for an efficient, pedestrian-friendly traffic junction. However, due to the small mass of the square, it was necessary to rethink and redesign the structure of the station area and the public transport network.
Notwithstanding an expanded service, the number of bus kerbs was to be reduced. To achieve this goal, lines with final stops at the station were replaced by diameter lines and shared use of the stops by different lines was introduced. Although the public considered the height of the canopies to be too high, only under this condition can the double-decker post buses stop at each edge.

The newly designed square is now crossed daily by an average of about 1`800 buses and 50 trains of the Appenzeller Bahnen (which operate as streetcars). Between 25`000 and 30`000 travelers use this place today to change from the bus or post bus to the train. In addition to this traffic flow, there are about 7,000 to 10,000 passengers who change between the bus and PostBus lines.
Both sides of the station have been designed as pedestrian zones, but car access is mainly from the north side, where 400 parking spaces are available. Car access is also available on the south side as far as the town hall parking garage, and here there are 100 additional parking spaces for users of the interchange.

Two underpasses located under the station facilitate the connection between the neighborhoods on this side and on the other side of the tracks. The west underpass provides direct access to the parking lot, the bicycle station and the newly built St.Gallen University of Applied Sciences, which is ideally located next to the station. The other underpass leads to the Bahnhofplatz, next to the town hall. The passenger has an unobstructed view of the bus station, and the layout is easy to recognize.
easy to recognize. The clever arrangement of the bus stop edges leaves a wide passageway free for pedestrians, and orientation in the station and its surroundings is quite instinctive.

Around 1500 bicycle parking spaces are located around the complex, including in particular two large bicycle stations (one at the end of the new underpass, the other at the foot of the town hall).

St.Gallen is also the first Swiss transport hub to be 100 percent adapted to the needs of people with limited mobility. All bus stop edges have a height of 22cm. Guidance systems for the blind show the way through the entire complex. In addition to stairs, the underpasses leading to the platforms are equipped with either a ramp or an elevator. In the underground spaces, lighting has been carefully designed to specifically reduce restrictions for people with visual impairments. The large number of people with reduced mobility at this location is a clear indication that this group of people feels safe thanks to the renovation measures that have been carried out.The very successful renovation of the historic station building in Art Deco style should also be highlighted.

St.Gallen
Railway Station Forecourt, St.Gallen

Additional Publications

lan: fr
mode: publication
page: vso994_nmu363_llg589
sub: og-page_tit: FLUX - Nœud de transport d'or, Prix suisse de la mobilité og-page_des: Le réaménagement de la gare et de la place de la gare de Saint-Gall a été récompensé par le prix suisse de la mobilité FLUX Nœud de transport d'or 2019. Le jury a notamment fait l'éloge de la structure générale, de l'aménagement soigné et de la `qualité d og-page_kwd: Agence, Publications, FLUX - Nœud de transport d'or, Prix suisse de la mobilité og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/fr/publication/vso994_nmu363_llg589/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pub/vso994_nmu363_llg589/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3

FLUX - Nœud de transport d'or, Prix suisse de la mobilité

Distinction (2019)

En 2019, le prix FLUX sera décerné à la ville de Saint-Gall, qui a su convaincre le jury par l'articulation générale de la zone de la gare et par le soin extrême apporté à l'aménagement, qui convainc par sa grande lisibilité et sa fonctionnalité. Le jury a reconnu au projet des qualités magistrales ainsi qu'une grande performance dans la coordination des acteurs impliqués. Dans les environs et dans la gare elle-même, les espaces ont été soigneusement réaménagés, malgré le grand nombre d'intervenants (six entreprises de transport, CFF Immobilier, CFF Infrastructure, la ville, le canton, la Confédération, les organisations de personnes handicapées, les entreprises de taxis, les associations de cyclistes et les magasins concernés). Cela a abouti à une solution globale qui, à grande échelle, crée un lien parfait entre les transports, l'espace public et le développement urbain. Aujourd'hui, les limites entre le site des CFF et le domaine public de la ville ne sont plus visibles. La gare a été parfaitement intégrée au centre-ville de Saint-Gall et inversement.

Par le passé, l'esplanade de la gare a été le théâtre de conflits et de conditions de circulation chaotiques. La décision la plus importante a été de bannir le trafic automobile de la place afin d'obtenir le calme nécessaire à la création d'un nœud de communication performant et convivial pour les piétons. Cependant, en raison de la faible masse de la place, il fallait repenser et réorganiser la structure du secteur de la gare et du réseau de transports publics.
Nonobstant une offre élargie, le nombre de quais de bus devait être réduit. Pour atteindre cet objectif, les lignes qui s'arrêtent à la gare ont été remplacées par des lignes diamétrales et le partage des arrêts entre les différentes lignes a été introduit. Certes, le public a jugé la hauteur des abris trop importante, mais ce n'est qu'à cette condition que les cars postaux à deux étages peuvent s'arrêter à chaque bord.

La place réaménagée est désormais traversée chaque jour par environ 1 800 bus et 50 trains des chemins de fer appenzellois (qui circulent comme des trams). Entre 25'000 et 30'000 voyageurs utilisent aujourd'hui cet endroit pour passer du bus ou du car postal au train. A ce flux de trafic s'ajoutent environ 7`000 à 10`000 personnes qui passent d'une ligne de bus ou de CarPostal à l'autre.
Les deux côtés de la gare ont été aménagés en zones de rencontre, mais l'accès des voitures se fait principalement par le côté nord, où 400 places de parking sont disponibles. L'accès en voiture est également possible du côté sud, jusqu'au parking de la mairie, et 100 places supplémentaires y sont disponibles pour les usagers du nœud de communication.

Deux passages souterrains situés sous la gare facilitent la liaison entre les quartiers situés de part et d'autre des voies. Le passage souterrain ouest permet d'accéder directement au parking, à la station de vélos et à la nouvelle école supérieure spécialisée de Saint-Gall, idéalement située près de la gare. L'autre passage souterrain débouche sur la place de la gare, à côté de l'hôtel de ville. Le voyageur a une vue dégagée sur la gare routière, la répartition des espaces est facile à comprendre.
facilement reconnaissable. Grâce à la disposition judicieuse des bords d'arrêt de bus, un large passage reste libre pour les piétons, et l'orientation dans la gare et ses environs se fait de manière tout à fait instinctive.

Environ 1500 places de stationnement pour vélos se trouvent autour du complexe, dont notamment deux grandes stations pour vélos (l'une au bout du nouveau passage souterrain, l'autre au pied de l'hôtel de ville).

En tant que premier nœud de communication suisse, Saint-Gall est en outre adapté à 100 % aux besoins des personnes à mobilité réduite. Tous les arrêts de bus ont une hauteur de 22 cm. Des systèmes de guidage pour aveugles indiquent le chemin à travers tout le complexe. Les passages souterrains qui mènent aux quais sont équipés soit d'une rampe, soit d'un ascenseur, en plus des escaliers. Dans les espaces souterrains, l'éclairage a été soigneusement conçu afin de réduire de manière ciblée les restrictions pour les personnes souffrant d'un handicap visuel. Le grand nombre de personnes à mobilité réduite dans ce lieu est un signe clair que ce groupe de personnes se sent en sécurité grâce aux mesures d'assainissement prises.

St.Gallen
Place de la gare, St.Gallen

Autres publications