lan: en
mode: project
page: nds707_bse883_zhh568
sub: og-page_tit: Generationenhaus Burgerspital og-page_des: The Burgerspital with its inner courtyards is considered to be one of the most beautiful Baroque buildings in Bern. The large inner courtyard was created in the first half of the eighteenth century. It was remodeled several times in the nineteenth and twentieth century. There are only a few informative archival documents, which are now being interpreted atmospherically. The stringent basic architectonic form of the Baroque courtyard is being continued with clipped, high-trunk lindens alternating with potted plants and sunken squares of lawn. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, og-page_url: https://www.hager-ag.ch/en/project/nds707_bse883_zhh568/ [open] og-page_img: https://www.hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/nds707_bse883_zhh568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8

Generationenhaus Burgerspital, Bern

In the Burgerspital, which was completed in 1741, elderly, needy, and ill individuals are taken care of under the management of the Burgergemeinde. The Baroque design from 1736 by the architect Joseph Abeille envisions a stringent architectural complex with two courtyards. The large, representative interior courtyard has a simple layout with a cloister garden, a central pool of water, and a surrounding arcade walkway. The eight-sided fountain that replaced its predecessor in 1761 is today considered to be one of the oldest and most important neo-classical fountains in Bern. Both courtyards were redesigned in the twentieth century and lost much of their Baroque architectural character.

With the renovation of the Burgerspital, the two courtyards will be returned to their Baroque form. Valuable elements of later building phases will be preserved. The cloister garden will be retained in the large interior courtyard. In place of a horticultural planting, lime trees with tall trunks in the Baroque style on the edges of the paths accentuate the spatial axes. Inset segments of lawn provide spatial differentiation and assume a seepage function. The paths are covered with gravel and the edges offset by a frieze of small paving stones. In the chapel courtyard, installations from the twentieth century will be reduced and linked to the current materialization by means of a mixture of paving materials. The oval of lawn that was added in 1945 will be given a new use as a play landscape.

Client
Burgergemeinde Bern
Project Data
Planning 2012
Realisation 2014-2015
Area 1`600 m²
Project Team
Graf Stampfli Jenni Architekten AG, Solothurn

Other Projects

lan: fr
mode: project
page: nds707_bse883_zhh568
sub: og-page_tit: Generationenhaus Burgerspital og-page_des: Avec ses nombreuses cours intérieures, le Burgerspital est l’un des plus beaux édifices baroques de la ville de Berne.La grande cour intérieure a été construite dans la première moitié du XVIIIe siècle. Aux XIXe et XXe siècles, plusieurs remaniements ont été effectués. Il ne reste aujourd’hui que peu d’archives significatives. Elles seront interprétées de manière à retrouver l’ambiance et le caractère de l’époque. La forme architecturale très marquée de la cour baroque sera reprise par des tilleuls haute-tige taillés, en alternance avec des plantes en pots et des carrés de pelouse. og-page_kwd: Architecture du paysage, Thèmes, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/fr/project/nds707_bse883_zhh568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/nds707_bse883_zhh568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8

Generationenhaus Burgerspital, Bern

Au sein de « l’Hôpital des Bourgeois » (Burgerspital), achevé en 1741, les personnes âgées, nécessiteuses et malades sont prises en charge sous la direction de la « commune bourgeoise » (Burgergemeinde). Le projet baroque de l'architecte Joseph Abeille de 1736 prévoit un ensemble rigoureusement architectural avec deux cours. La grande cour intérieure caractéristique est conçue suivant un plan épuré avec un jardin de curé, un bassin d'eau central et les arcades périphériques de la galerie. La fontaine octogonale, qui a remplacé une fontaine précédente en 1761, est aujourd'hui considérée comme l'une des fontaines classiques les plus anciennes et les plus importantes de Berne. Les deux cours ont été réaménagées au XXe siècle et ont perdu une grande partie de leur caractère architectural baroque.

Avec la reconstruction de l’Hôpital des Bourgeois, les deux cours ont retrouvé leur caractère baroque. Certains éléments architecturaux de valeur des phases ultérieures de la construction sont conservés. Dans la grande cour intérieure, le jardin de curé est préservé. Au lieu de plantations horticoles, les hauts troncs des tilleuls soulignent les axes spatiaux le long des cheminements dans un style baroque. Les parterres de pelouse créent une différenciation spatiale et assument la fonction d'infiltration des eaux pluviales. Les chemins sont gravillonnés et délimités par un pavage en pierres du « Katzenstein » pour les bordures. Dans la cour de la chapelle « Kapellenhof », certains éléments bâtis du XXe siècle sont transformés et harmonisés avec la matérialité actuelle à travers un pavage aux pierres variés. L’ellipse de pelouse, achevé en 1945, est utilisée à nouveau comme aire de jeu.

Maître d'ouvrage
Burgergemeinde Bern
Données du projet
Conception 2012
Réalisation 2014-2015
Superficie 1`600 m²
Équipe du projet
Graf Stampfli Jenni Architekten AG, Solothurn

Projets supplémentaires